News and Notices

Principal’s Message

21 September 2023

Dear families and friends

Leadership is not defined by a badge or a role. Leadership is the spark that ignites positive change in the world. It’s the unwavering belief in one’s ability to make a difference, to inspire others, and to chart a course toward a brighter future. True leaders are not defined by titles or positions; they are defined by their actions and the impact they have on those around them. Leadership is the art of guiding, uplifting, and empowering others, even in the face of adversity. It’s about standing up for what’s right, even when it’s challenging, and leading by example with integrity, compassion, and a relentless drive to improve the lives of others.

In essence, leadership is the beacon that calls upon the best within us to shine forth, illuminating a path of hope, inspiration, and positive transformation for all to follow. Leadership can be demonstrated by all within our community. To exercise leadership requires considerable courage and a desire to bring about change and raise awareness within our community.  In the past year, I have had the privilege of witnessing the outstanding leadership of the Student Council of 2023, who have embodied our College’s core values: faith, service, and excellence. These remarkable young people have not only embraced the principles of servant leadership but have also reminded us of the power of dedication and the enduring spirit of our Lasallian charism.

  • Faith in Action: The student leaders of 2023 demonstrated unwavering faith through their actions. They emphasized that faith is a driving force for positive change, fostering unity and inclusivity within our community. Their acts of kindness and compassion exemplified the strength of our faith-based community.
  • Service to Others: These leaders wholeheartedly embraced the value of service. They put the needs of others before their own, listened with empathy, and led by example. They showed us that leadership is not about titles or positions but about making a positive impact on the lives of those we serve. Their commitment enriched our college with hope and compassion.
  • Pursuit of Excellence: Excellence was a guiding principle for the student leaders of 2023. They showed us that achieving excellence requires dedication, resilience, and a commitment to lifelong learning. Their achievements and accomplishments are a reminder that we can achieve more than we believe when we set our sights on excellence.

As we give thanks to the student leaders of 2023, we also look ahead with excitement and anticipation to the incoming student leaders of 2024, who were announced at our College Assembly on Monday 18 September.

I have every confidence that these young men and women will continue to uphold the values of faith, service, and excellence that are at the core of our college identity. They have big shoes to fill, but I have no doubt they will rise to the challenge with the same spirit of servant leadership that has defined our community.

I am pleased to introduce the student leaders of 2024 who will continue to lead us on this journey of faith, service, excellence, and servant leadership:

Year 12 Captains
  • Christian Ministry: Abigail Rodrigues and Lydia Belay
  • Academic: Aoife Barr and Cole Letich
  • Arts: Imani-Marie Muriuki and Bronte Lovelock
  • Music: Jared Suello and April Tostevin
  • Sport: Ella Kuchel and Kieren Smith
  • Wellbeing: Kayla Vranjes and Emily Ford
  • Benildus House: Rowan Edmunds
  • Brigid House: Arwyn-Marie Alvarez
  • Jordan House: Tonique Cassidy
  • La Salle House: Torbyn Dienhoff
  • MacKillop House: Rocco Cuccovia
  • McCormack House: Rachel O’Neill
  • Mutien House: Caithlin Shortall
  • Solomon House: Casey Cooper

Student Representative Councillors: Abby DiCera, Olivia Grover, Matilda Lyons, Lily Seegers, Kate Smith, Jake Smith, Hannah Swadling, Patrick Balbido, Olivia Greenshaw, Amelia Hughes, Jemima Mbunsu, Eva Oakley, Katie O’Donnell, Rosheen Thompson, Skye Todorovic, Antoine Al-Safadi, Ruby Blackwood, Sinead Burrows, Shaun Chinogurei, Kate Halls, Hannah Kuol, River Syme, Mason Thompson, Francesca Burman, Anisha Celestin, Natalie Chisi, Shelby Harris, Tatukila Kombi, Liam Smith, Hudson Spackman and Ashlee Urquhart-Holdcroft.  Congratulations to all of our newly elected leaders.

The end of Term Three is always a little bittersweet as we know that our Year 12 students as leaders of the College will begin their transition to the next path in their life journey.  Some students will return to the College to complete their examinations, others will embark on their career path or further training. I thank the Class of 2023 for their wonderful leadership and contributions to our College community over the last six years and look forward to celebrating their graduation from the College in Term 4.  My prayer for them all is that they will forever know that they will always find support in their faith, their family, their friends and our Lasallian community.

I wish all members of our community a well-deserved and revitalising break and look forward to seeing everyone back for Term 4 on Tuesday 10 October 2023.

God bless!

Ms Giovanna Fiume  | College Principal

More Stories

Scroll to Top